Interview with Laurel Parker

Redstar73 Blog:You have just finished working on a new video clip for Roy Ellis. How was working with Roy Ellis?
Laurel Parker: Roy is a king among men. First time I met him he handed me a large bar of chocolate available only in Switzerland. So straight off he was my BFF. And this was some good chocolate – creamy – dark. No I’m not now talking about Roy. But I could be. He’s a consummate professional with an unmatched sense of style. Really one of the nicest men I’ve had the pleasure to meet and honour to work with.

Redstar73 Blog: Whats the story behind the video?
Laurel Parker: Toni and I have known each other for years now. He is the European distributor for my short film Clay. We tried to set up a show together for The Adjuster in 2000 when they were touring Europe and I was filming the adventure. Sadly, the show didn’t work out but Toni and I remained friends. We met a few times in person in London but it wasn’t until we worked together on the Granadian’s Pop a Top videos that we really became close. It was a natural for us to shoot a video for Roy’s “You Can’t Leave Now.” Well natural in that he had to do something to stop my pestering him to do another music video. It’s rare in this business that you get to work with someone like Toni who has so much integrity, so professional and is just a really really great guy. Our birthday is the same day although he’s many many years older than I.

Redstar73 Blog: You have worked on more movies and videos. Can you tell us more about it.
Laurel Parker: Toni produced and I directed Pop a Top which is a triptych of videos starring Los Granadians. Those cats are some of the most creative people I’ve had the pleasure to work with – and wild! Just prior to that I shot the Chris Murray video “Shades of the Same Color”. While doing time in Chicago, I shot “Our Town” for The Adjusters and Clay, a short film about a sax playing skinhead. There’s a taste for you but there’s plenty more samples of my work posted to my Mobley Street youtube channel. Check it out – won’t you?

Redstar73 Blog: Are you working on any other projects?
Laurel Parker: I’m about to deliver some DVD special features for the season 2 release of The Borgias, starring Jeremy Irons. These videos, written, produced and directed by myself, will be on the DVD box set coming out late this year. Also out this year will be a stand-up DVD I directed for the comedian Pam Ann. I’m also about to finish work on a short film about a private detective and his girl. We shot this comedy in LA and and it’s based on a character from a feature film script called Dash Miller. The next big thing will be a music video for the band Gangstagrass. Ganstagrass is the band who does the theme song for the show, Justified. It’s rap meets country – quite a change for me and I’m really looking forward to it.

Redstar73 Blog: You told me you went to the London Ska Festival this year. How was it?
Laurel Parker: It was brilliant. Sadly, the only night I could go, the headliner didn’t show but I did get to see Los Granadians. Believe it or not, I’ve never seen them live and they were to die for. Really can’t recommend them enough. They don’t play out often but if they do and you’re anywhere near by – get there!

Tags: , , , , , ,

About redstar73

Barcelona Street Art 2011 - ?

Leave a Reply

