BOILER WEEKEND 2014 : Barcelona, 11 & 12 July

THE BOILER WEEKEND > 11 & 12 July 2014
THE BOILER’s 11th Anniversary!

Guest BAND:
Saturday 13th, 23:00h til 00:00h (punctuality!)
LES GRIGRIS live!
French Rhythm’n’Beat!

GUEST DJs:
ROB BAILEY (New Untouchables, London)
CHRISTIAN GÖBEL (Soul Inn, Berlin)
IVAN LE TERRIBLE (Paris)
BAZZA & DANI Straighten Up (Barcelona)

Organized by: Jordi Duro, Jules Winnfield & Cristina Alonso

At JAZZ ROOM
Carrer Vallmajor nº 33 – Plaza d’Adria (Barcelona)
FFCC: Muntaner

Warm Up: from 22:30h
Band: 23:00h til 00:00h
Allnighters: til 5:00h

Admission: 12 euros – each night (including drink)
Advanced weekend pass: 20 euros – Write us to get more info!

WARNING: Very limited capacity. Arrive early or you’ll be left out!

+ 2nd THE BOILER SCOOTER RIDE OUT ON SATURDAY

Bands & Selectors:

LES GRISGRIS > French Rhythm’n’Beat!

Here are a few comments on the last few concerts from this very young band:
‘They don’t come from 60’s London, Les Grigris, averaging 22 years of age, are from Alés (not Arlés) in the south of France and play Wild Rhythm and Blues with Style’
‘Inspired by British Blues: Pretty Things or Downliners Sect, these youngsters already have a reputation for energetic and crazy shows of wild Rhythm’n’blues’
‘Back from the 60’s, Brit’n’French Beat, for the ladies. grrrrreat… A R’N’B show for your boots only!
‘I’ve seen the future of R’n’Beat and it’s called Les Grigris ….and tonite they made up for our impossible dreams of seeing the Pretty Things or Ronnie Bird at the Loco.’

ROB BAILEY (New Untouchables, London)

Been lucky enough to DJ all over the World and meet a whole lot of great people on my travels. I’ve always heard fantastic stories from friends about the Boiler club so I look forward to joining you in July. I turned my passion into my profession twenty years ago and organize New Untouchables events like Modstock, Brighton Mod/60’s Weekender, Le Beat Bespoke festival and compilation series of the same name also co-promoter of Euro Ye Ye festival in Gijon. I run several club nights in London where I live, my including Timebox, Zoo Zoo, Crossfire, and the Mousetrap allnighter which celebrated its 23rd anniversary in March. I run an online mail order record business called RnB Records to subsidies my own vinyl addiction visit http://www.newuntouchables.com/rnbrecords for vintage vinyl from the golden era. My other great passion is football and I still play (badly these days) and support the famous CFC from SW6. Here
are half a dozen songs I hope to play at the Boiler.

The Gass – I Don’t Know Why
Prince Buster – Girl Answer To Your Name
The Vonns – So Many Days
Tito Puente – Hit The Bongo
The Sparkles – Try Love

CHRISTIAN GÖBEL (Soul Inn, Berlin)

I was born in the groovy 70s in Munich. My first experience with music was my mothers Rock’n’Roll collection that included stuff like Elvis and Fats Domino. Of course I had to revolt against parents and establishment and I got into hardrock, still I have a grin on my face when I hear an old AC/DC number. In the early/mid 80s I turned to Punk Rock and New Wave sounds, I discovered the Cramps and the John Spencer Blues Explosion, the latter was the link to Crypt Records and I got lost in Garage Punk. I bought numerous Garage Punk compilations and spiced this up with some dirty R&B and Soul Comps. At some point the idea occurred to play this sound in Bars and Clubs. Only after a little while playin’ Samplers got boring and I started to collect rare Soul and R&B 45’s Since eight years I’m organize and Djing AT The Soul Inn!

I was born in the groovy 70s in Munich. My first experience with music was my mothers Rock’n’Roll collection that included stuff like Elvis and Fats Domino. Of course I had to revolt against parents and establishment and I got into hardrock, still I have a grin on my face when I hear an old AC/DC number. In the early/mid 80s I turned to Punk Rock and New Wave sounds, I discovered the Cramps and the John Spencer Blues Explosion, the latter was the link to Crypt Records and I got lost in Garage Punk. I bought numerous Garage Punk compilations and spiced this up with some dirty R&B and Soul Comps. At some point the idea occurred to play this sound in Bars and Clubs. Only after a little while playin’ Samplers got boring and I started to collect rare Soul and R&B 45’s Since eight years I’m organize and Djing AT The Soul Inn!

Don Heart – Soul in the back-yard
Melvin Davis – This ain’t the way
Joe Matthews – (You better) check yourself
Sonny Knight – The groove is on
Skip Robinson – I just can’t wait

IVAN LE TERRIBLE (FR)

You might know Ivan as one of the legendary No-Talents, or maybe you have seen him perform with Les Terribles. You might have visited his Born Bad store in Paris, or you might own some of his Taboo Lp comps. Everything he does evolves around music and it’s a pleasure to have him dj for the first time at The Boiler. He brings a very personal and eclectic mix of music with a big dancing beat.

Buddy Wayne – Agent 007 dance
Stelle – J’achete des disques américains
The Romancers – She took my oldsmobile
Les Scarabées – Puisque tu m’as quitté
Jimmy Robins – I can’t please you

LLUIS CARDENAL (Banyoles)

El nombre de Lluís Cardenal es de sobras conocido en la escena Mod nacional e internacional. Requeridísimo DJ, tipo cool donde los haya, adorable borrachuzo, animal danzante y sibarita, amante de la buena vida, atesora una trayectoria como locutor de radio en Girona, y como instigador del baile ajeno a través de su residencia The Wig Club. Ha paseado su maletín por eventos en toda Europa y UK (Underground Blues de Teramo, All Saints Mod Rally de Lavarone, Italian Job de Rimini, Ham Yard y Rnb 123 de Londres, Belgium Mod Weekend, Hideaway de Manchester, King Bee Rnb club Sheffield…) por aquí en el Clean Cut, Boiler, Mojo Working, Sevilla, Valencia, Euro YeYé…ha llegado a estar involucrado en la organización de Le Clean Cut durante una breve temporada. Vuelve a la cabina del Boiler para poner delicadezas de R & B, Jazz y Soul!

Al Pinckney – Coasting – Pa-Go-Go
The Crowns – Jerking the dog – Pama
The Pips – Whistle my love – Brunswick
Bobby Byrd – Write me a letter – Smash
Sonny Knight – The groove is on – Celebrity

STRAIGHTEN UP DJs (Barcelona)

Un buen afeitado, brogues relucientes, button down bien planchada y los tirantes puestos. Y cientos de canciones de Reggae y Soul a todo volumen. Esto es Straighten Up! Bazza y Dani, el dúo dinámico skinhead, estamos orgullosos de volver a pinchar en uno de los clubes más cool de música negra en Eruropa. Traeremos nuestras maletas bien repletas de Reggae, Rocksteady y Bluebeat para vuetro disfrute, como de costumbre, sólo pensando en la pista de baile. Solos o juntos, hemos pinchado por Cataluña, España y Europa, demasiadas ciudades que mencionar y poco que logremos recordar, por culpa de la cerveza y los gintonics…

Properly shaved, brogues shinning, button down ironed and braces on. And hundreds of reggae and soul tunes at top volume. This is Straighten Up!
Bazza and Dani, the skinhead dynamic duo, are proud of playing again in one of the coolest black music clubs in Erurope. We’ll fill our record cases with reggay, rocksteady and bluebeat tunes for your musical pleasure, as usual, only thinking on the dancefloor happinness. Alone or together they’d been playing around Catalonia, Spain and Europe, lot of cities to mention and few memories thanks to the beer and gintonic.

Prince Buster – Hide and seek
Blues Busters – I won’t let you go
Lloyd Robinson – Cuss cuss
Larry Marshall – Please stay
The Broncos – Regal reggay
The Tartans – What You Gonna Do
Albert Tomlinson – Second That Emotion
Austin Faithful – I Am Losing You
Derrick Morgan – Stand By Me
Sonny Wong – You Cant Hold On

+ Club DJs: Jordi Duro, Jules Winnfield & Cristina Alonso

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

About redstar73

Barcelona Street Art 2011 - ?

Leave a Reply

