Top 5 Galore: Kevin / Do the Dog Music

1. The Specials – Do Nothing (one of the first 7″ singles I ever bought. I have always loved the tune & the lyrics are just as relevant today as they were back in the early 1980’s)

2. The Hotknives – Don’t Go Away (so, so catchy & a chorus that sticks in your head forever. I first discovered this band at the first London International Ska Festival at the Brixton Fridge in 1988 & have loved them ever since)

3. The Busters – Busterlor (my favourite ska band ever. Ever since I first heard their debut album on Unicorn Records I have been hooked on The Busters. So many great songs over a 30 year career, but this is my favourite. I love it’s simple catchy rhythm & storytelling vocal)

4. Fishbone – Ma & Pa (super, super catchy straight up ska brilliance. I like the way it matched up a uplifting upbeat rhythm with a sad lyric. The lyrics for this song actually inspired me to write The Bakesys’ song Anmated Violence)

5. The Interrupters – Phantom City (best new band to emerge from the USA in recent times. Punky edged 2 tone brilliance from California)

Tags: , , , , , ,

About redstar73

Barcelona Street Art 2011 - ?

Leave a Reply

